Friday, 30 May 2008

Matildas win.

Canberrans Lydia Wiliams and Caitlin Munoz played in the Matildas Asia Cup opener.


Australia have opened their campaign at the 2008 AFC Women's Asian Cup with a 4-0 win over Chinese Taipei in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, tonight.

A first half double from midfielder Heather Garriock set the Australians on their way, with striker Jenna Tristram and substitute Lisa De Vanna rounding out the scoring with goals either end of the second half.

The match commenced in extreme humidity before a torrential downpour midway through the first half saw water remain pooled on the pitch throughout the second period making passing and ball control impossible at times.

"I'm very pleased with the result and particularly so given the circumstances in which the match was played," said Australian coach Tom Sermanni.

"Chinese Taipei were very well organised defensively and made life difficult for us but our team adapted well."

"Once the rain came it made playing football impossible but without doubt the players performed admirably in very trying conditions. We fielded quite a young team tonight but they were very solid throughout and helped us get off to a strong start in this tournament.

Australia now meet Korea Republic on Saturday at 10.30pm (AEST), with the final group game against Japan on Monday also at 8pm (AEST).

For more match details see

Match Details:-

Australia 4 (Heather Garriock 18', 41', Jenna Tristram 52', Lisa De Vanna 82’)

Chinese Taipei 0

Australian line-up: Lydia Williams (gk); Ellyse Perry (Clare Polkinghorne 65'), Kim Carroll, Kate McShea, Karla Reuter, Lauren Colthorpe, Amber Neilson, Heather Garriock (Tameka Butt h/t), Kyah Simon, Jenna Tristram, Caitlin Munoz (Lisa De Vanna 63').

Cautions: nil

Referee: Hong Sil Ri (DPR Korea)

The Matildas squad for the 2008 AFC Women's Asian Cup:

Goalkeepers – Melissa Barbieri (Melbourne), Lydia Williams (Canberra)
Defenders – Di Alagich (Sydney), Kim Carroll (Brisbane), Kate McShea (Brisbane), Ellyse Perry (Sydney), Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane), Karla Reuter (Brisbane), Cheryl Salisbury (Newcastle)
Midfielders – Tameka Butt (Gold Coast), Amy Chapman (Canberra), Lauren Colthorpe (Brisbane), Heather Garriock (Sydney), Ella Mastrantonio (Perth), Collette McCallum (Perth), Amber Neilson (Newcastle)

Forwards – Lisa De Vanna (Perth), Kate Gill (Newcastle), Caitlin Munoz (Canberra), Kyah Simon (Sydney), Jenna Tristram (Brisbane),
(current home city)
First Round
Wednesday - 28 May 2008
Match 1: China vs Thailand
Match 2: DPR Korea vs Vietnam

Thursday - 29 May 2008
Match 3: Australia vs Chinese Taipei
Match 4: Japan vs Korea Republic

Friday - 30 May 2008
Match 5: Thailand vs DPR Korea
Match 6: Vietnam vs China

Saturday - 31 May 2008
Match 7: Chinese Taipei vs Japan
Match 8: Korea Republic vs Australia

Sunday - 1 June 2008
Match 9: China vs DPR Korea
Match 10: Thailand vs Vietnam

Monday - 2 June 2008
Match 11: Australia vs Japan
Match 12: Chinese Taipei vs Korea Republic

Tuesday - 3 June 2008 - Rest Day
Wednesday - 4 June 2008 - Rest Day

Semi Finals
Thursday - 5 June 2008
Match 13: Winner Group A v Runner-Up Group B
Match 14:Winner Group B v Runner-Up Group A

Friday - 6 June 2008 - Rest Day
Saturday 7 June 2008 - Rest Day

Finals & 3rd/4th Play Off
Sunday - 8 June 2008
3rd/4th Play Off: Loser Match 13 vs Loser Match 14
Final: Winner Match 14 vs Winner Match 14

No comments: