Friday, 2 May 2008

Saturday Night Grand Final

All the new guidelines for the season, including Boxing Day football. Great stuff.
Details below.



Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced that the Hyundai A-League 2009 Grand Final will be played on Saturday 28 February 2009 following the release of the Hyundai A-League 2008-09 Season draw.

The first round of the Hyundai A-League 2008-09 season, which will kick off on Friday 15 August, features the Hyundai A-League 2008 Grand Rematch and local derby between reigning Champions the Newcastle Jets and their local rivals and defending Premiers the Central Coast Mariners.

The rivalries continue on Saturday 16 August when Sydney FC host southern nemesis Melbourne Victory, whilst Sunday 17 August sees the Queensland Roar travel across the ditch to face the Wellington Phoenix and Adelaide United hosts Perth Glory to complete round one.

In addition to the opening round the Hyundai A-League 2008-09 season draw highlights include:
· three breaks within the Hyundai A-League 2008-09 season to accommodate FIFA match dates (6 September 2008, 11 October 2008 and 11 November 2008. An additional break will occur during the Hyundai A-League 2009 Finals Series (11 February 2009).
· Boxing Day double between the Newcastle Jets and Central Coast Mariners and also Perth Glory and Adelaide United.
· Round 18 will see a New Years Eve blockbuster between Central Coast Mariners and Perth Glory at Bluetongue Stadium and Adelaide United host Sydney FC at Adelaide Oval on Saturday 3 January 2009.
· Every match broadcast live and exclusive on FOX Sports.
· The Hyundai A-League 2008-09 season will again be contested over 21 rounds. The final round of the season (Round 21) is scheduled for the weekend of 23-25 January 2009.

The Hyundai A-League 2009 Finals Series will be contested by the top four teams at the end of Round 21. The first leg of the Hyundai A-League 2009 Semi-Finals will be played on Friday 30 January 2009 and Sunday 1 February 2009 with the Hyundai A-League 2009 Preliminary Final scheduled for Saturday 21 February 2009 with the Hyundai A-League 2009 Grand Final on Saturday 28 February 2009. The winner of the Hyundai A-League 2009 Grand Final will be crowned Champions.

“Following the success of the Hyundai A-League 2008 Grand Final, we have moved this season’s finale to Saturday night to allow more fans to attend the event no matter where the match is held,” Said FFA Chief Executive Officer Ben Buckley.

“During this season we will also see the launch of the new National Youth League competition. The establishment of this development league will provide a perfect training ground for the Hyundai A-League players of the future.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank our partners; Hyundai, Qantas, Telstra, Powerade, Ballantines, Zurich and Fox Sports, as well as all the club sponsors for their valued ongoing support of the Hyundai A-League competition,” concluded Buckley.

Fox Sports will continue broadcast all the Hyundai A-League 2008-09 matches “Live and Exclusive".

Football Federation Australia today also announced a number of modifications to the Hyundai A-League Competition Rules and Regulations for the upcoming season including:

Under 23 Marquee Player
Ø Clubs may apply to have A$150k max Salary of one (1) Under 23 player exempt from the Salary cap
Squad Size Increase 30-35
Ø this include 20-23 Roster players and 10-12 National Youth League Players
Salary Cap Increase
Ø The Salary Cap will increase to A$1.9million
Injury Replacement Players
Ø Will be considered on a case by case basis due to ability of NYL players to be promoted on a weekly basis
Ø Salary Level must be commensurate to that of the injured player. Any premium will be included in the Salary Cap
Registration Window Changes
Ø First Registration Window will now run from 1 June - 31 August (3 month period aligns with European transfer window)

No comments: