Tuesday, 11 May 2010

Socceroos 2011: The next Generation unveiled

You can find out all about the 31 players chosen for the World Cup on every other website in the country so thought more interesting to fans would be the future, our future and it's starting to look brighter:

Some players will retire post-South Africa or more likely post-Asia Cup 2011 but the seeds of the future are being sown and here's how your Asia Cup squad cup could look come January and indeed your next qualification for the World Cup 2014.


Brad Jones/Adam Federici/Mitch Langarek (seems fine to me)

David Carney, Mark Milligan, Lucas Neill, Luke Wilkshire, Brett Emerton, Jade North, Rhys Williams, Shane Lowry, Michael Beauchamp (will be fine in time you'd think.)

James Holland, Carl Valeri, Jason Culina, Tim Cahill, Mile Jedinak, Harry Kewell, Brett Holman, Nicky Carle, Richard Garcia. (Plenty of scope for here given Wilkshire and Emerton still in the mix, plus Vidosic or Oar to slot in.)

Josh Kennedy, Scott McDonald, Matthew Leckie, Tommy Oar, Dario Vidosic, Nikita Rukavystya. With Nikita, Tommy and Dario progressing we have some pace and skill, probably good enough to qualify through Asia?

Not the greatest squad we've ever had but good enough to remain in the top four in Asia? Maybe, just!

No comments: